A Doughty Street postcard from Melissa

Melissa visits the Dickens Museum in Doughty Street, London, October 2014

Melissa visits the Dickens Museum in Doughty Street, London, October 2014

Why I went…

The visit was the culmination of a year-long reading and blogging project, followed by presenting a paper about the whole experience at the Dickens Day conference at the University London.

What I got out of the experience…

Visiting the house in which Dickens had lived and worked, and seeing things like the desk he worked at and the lectern at which he gave his public readings, was an amazing experience. Suddenly the 19th century author I had been reading about, whose works I had enjoyed and who I felt I had come to know was a tangible, flesh and blood person who had inhabited the very space I was standing in. Just seeing the everyday items that he would have used or seen made me feel like I knew him a little better as a person. It was extremely moving.

I also visited Dickens’ grave in Westminster Abbey, which was even more moving (I may have burst into tears), but they don’t let you take photos in there so I can’t share that particular moment (which is probably a good thing since there may have been more red eyes and snot than is usually acceptable in vacation photos).

Creative Commons Licence

Leave a Reply

