‘Stepping into an Austen Novel’: Harriet’s Postcard from Bath

Dressing up at the Jane Austen Centre in Bath

Dressing up at the Jane Austen Centre in Bath

Why I went…

A friend and I had decided to visit Bath for the day because neither of us had been there previously and I was visiting her in Bristol so it was easier to get to. My friend is an English Literature student and so she wanted to visit the museum. I also have an interest in literature and so I thought it would be fun to take a trip there.

What I got out of the experience…

Being a student of Russian and Czech literature means I get little time to read English Classics these days and I jumped at the chance of visiting Jane Austen’s home. I knew almost nothing about her as a person and so the trip gave me some insight into her life as well as a better understanding of her works and the opportunity to dress up in some snazzy period costumes. The exhibition was small but informative and even included information about film and television adaptations of her books. Undoubtedly the best part of the trip was Afternoon Tea in the Tea Room at the museum which made us feel as though we had stepped into one of Austen’s novels.

Creative Commons Licence

Leave a Reply

