Lea’s postcard from Austen’s Bath

Why I went and what I got out of the experience…

I really wanted to go to Bath, because Jane Austen lived there for a chunk of her life. I felt like I could get closer to her somehow if I went and walked down the same streets that she did. Though Jane Austen didn’t like Bath that much, you can see many locations in Bath that she writes about in her novels, Persuasion and Northanger Abbey. I wanted to immerse myself in the world of the characters in her novels. Maybe not time travel, but get a residual feeling of what it must have been like to live there.

When I got to Bath, I first noticed how very beautiful the city looked like as a whole. The buildings all mashed well together and the atmosphere was different from other larger towns I had seen in England, like York or Lincoln. Bath looked more modern than these medieval towns. I went to the Pump Room and the Roman Baths, both of which are exciting experiences if you like Jane Austen. I also visited the Royal Crescent and saw both the upper and lower rooms while in Bath. I was really happy that I took time out of my semester abroad to go there. It was an amazing experience, and after I went I feel a bit closer to Miss Austen.
Creative Commons Licence

Leave a Reply

